Why are UIQ 3 downloads so slow?

[UPDATED] This have really been a problem, that has been bugging me for a long time. UIQ 3 download speeds are absolutely ridiculous – here’s an example. I’ve got a 2 Mbps Internet connection at home and download speeds are about 210 KB/s. However when downloading with my P990, the download speed is only about 3 KB/s – that’s 70 times lower than normal speed! I’ve been trying to ask a few people, who knows a lot about UIQ, but nobody has been able to give me an answer. Maybe I’ll try to contact UIQ and see what they have to say. I have now contacted UIQ.

In the mean time, I’d like to ask you guys if you’ve experienced this, too, and what phone you are using and connection type (WLAN, 3G, etc.). Thanks in advance – I’d like to get to the bottom of this!

Update! I have now gotten a reply from UIQ. It appears that the fault is not located with UIQ, but rather Sony Ericsson’s hardware. Maybe I’ll try to have a chat with Sony Ericsson about this, as this is by far not acceptable.

7 Responses

  1. SE UIQ phones just use ultra slow Wifi B. 😦

  2. It’s still good for 11 Mbps, and there should be no problem whatsoever using this.

  3. I read somewhere among the my-symbian or allaboutsymbian forum posts (I’m trying to find it now but can’t) that it’s a design flaw with SE smartphone motherboards; it can’t handle the bandwidth.

    If I recall correctly, the person who posted said that in the next SE smartphone iteration, this issue will be addressed by better hardware.

  4. OK, thanks! I had a feeling it had something to do with that. Well, I have contacted UIQ, so I’ll be looking forward to seeing their reply and if it’s the same.

  5. When using my P990i as UMTS Modem via Bluetooth, I get download speeds of about 70kb/s

  6. Yes, but I mean download ON the phone not on the PC via the phone.

  7. ..I know the p1 is good for some 220kb/s in good weather.. And that would be around the effective maximum on 5.5Mbit, which it seems the phone is set to as maximum in software. But there are problems beyond that, on compression and encryption and so on, that probably could be related to bus- speed limitations.

    They also use some sort of modem that’s designed for maximum power- saving, and it has compatibility issues of different kinds.

    Still.. I’d be very suprised if they told you it was only hardware- related.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

